Sand Art: Life’s precious moments

My husband and I spent what should have been the coldest part of New England weather on our favorite southern island, Tybee. Wind permitting, we would walk the shore from the north side of the island to the south, going further each day. Each day is different, except for the pelicans and winter shore birds. Each day, nature shares another part of her beauty, or her power and strength, and sometimes her wrath.

One day, we happened on an amazing sand sculpture. I quickly took a picture, knowing that as soon as the tide comes in again, this piece of art would be gone.

Baby dinosaur getting some morning sun

The next morning, when we headed out on our walk, I kept my eyes peeled for any remnants of this sand sculpture; there were none. It was gone. The sea reclaimed each grain of sand, placing it back into its original form, ready to be washed back onto the shore and crafted into yet another sand sculpture. And all that’s left of this beautiful artwork are the photographs morning beach walkers like me happened to take as we strolled along the shoreline sipping our coffee and enjoying nature’s best moments.

Leave a comment